“Will He receive me?” by John Newton

“I am a sinner, therefore I need a Saviour, one who is able and willing to save to the uttermost. Such a one is Jesus. He is all that I want: wisdom, righteousness, sanctification, and redemption.

But will He receive me? Can I answer a previous question? Am I willing to receive Him? If so, and if His word may be taken, if He meant what He said, and promised no more than He can perform, I may be sure of a welcome.

He knew, long before, the doubts, fears, and suspicions which would arise in my mind when I should come to know what I am, what I have done, and what I have deserved. And therefore He declared, before He left the earth, ‘Him that cometh to Me I will in no wise cast out.’

I have no money or price in my hand, no worthiness to recommend me. And I need none, for He saveth freely for His own name’s sake. I have only to be thankful for what He has already shewn me, and to wait upon Him for more.

It is my part to commit myself to Him as the Physician of sin-sick souls, not to prescribe to Him how He shall treat me. To begin, to carry on, and to perfect the cure, is His part.”

–John Newton, Letters of John Newton (Carlisle, PA: Banner of Truth Trust, 1869/2007), 284-285.

Leave a comment

Filed under Banner of Truth, Christian Theology, Communion with God, God's Power, Jesus Christ, John Newton, Puritanical, Quotable Quotes, Sanctification, The Gospel

Leave a Reply

